1

July 22, 2014

Review: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

v-is-for-villain

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad’s basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn’t measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he’s happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they’re pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he’s on. And once he does, there’s no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The AvengersIronman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it’s good to be bad.

add to goodreadsV is for Villain by Peter Moore
Publication Date:  May 20, 2014
Publisher:  Disney-Hyperion

Available for Purchase:
Chapter-Indigo|amazon|B&N|kobo|TBD|indiebound

Here’s a song!
[youtube_sc url=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Tj-CHnEvKQ” color=”white” autohide=”1″]

** This title was provided to us by the Publisher for an honest review.
We were in no way paid for our opinions **

Gabby-2013V is For Villain is a novel that I have been waiting for ever since I first saw it on Goodreads. I’m a huge fan of comics and everything that comes with them. The heroes and villains. The spandex costumes. The unrealistic body proportions and the storylines (both the good and the bad). V is For Villain takes all of the elements that make up modern comic books, their heroes and the like and throws them into a world where superheroes, supervillains and superpowers are all very real and relatively normal.

Brad Baron is the son to the deceased Artillery I and the younger brother to Blake Baron who has taken up the mantle as Artillery II. Brad’s brother is everything a superhero should be. Strong. Handsome. Charismatic and powerful. He’s almost perfect and he is the bane of Brad’s existence. Brad is normal or at least as normal as it gets in this world. Attending a high school filled with powered students and teachers, he sticks out like a sore thumb. Which is what gets him thrown into a program meant for students with meager powers or none at all.

This is where Brad meets Layla, a girl with a highly illegal power, and her friends. Through them, Brad begins to think about the world in an entirely new way. Heroes might not be as good as everybody thinks they might be. Especially with their slaughtering their enemies and all the casualties and collateral damage that comes with their heroics. Unearthing the powers inside of him, Brad decides that maybe the only way to do anything really good in this world is by becoming someone bad.

Reading V is For Villain was a really fun experience. Brad’s personality is realistic and will speak to a lot of teen readers who fell out of place in their lives. He’s normal. He doesn’t compare to his older brother. He can barely do much of anything until he decides that he’s totally able to and takes up the identity of a villain and utilizes his abilities. Being inside of Brad’s head is a fun experience and does make you question the lines between good and evil. V is For Villain shows that everything is grey and not just black and white. I never imagined that I would be reading a novel where I would actually be cheering on the “bad guy”.

The world that Peter Moore has built in V is For Villain is one that readers will quickly get caught up in. This is a version of all those worlds built up in comic books but with actual explanations behind crazy things like skin-tight armor that somehow manages to make you still look attractive, the genetics behind superpowers and so many other things (read the book there are a lot more). Despite this being about as fictional a world as it gets it still felt very realistic and I wasn’t left squinting and wondering how certain parts of it worked.

V is For Villain is written in a journal format and has a lot of juicy additions like newspaper articles and quotations from interviews—which is great. But I’m very curious about the way that the novel ends. So many things are left open-ended and I really need to know what happens next (if anything). I sincerely hope that we get some further looks into Brad’s life as a villain because just when things started to get really good the novel reached its conclusion.

I would recommend V is For Villain to readers who are big fans of comic verses and the Marvel films (because come on those have been great). Readers who want a coming-of-age novel that incorporates action and superpowers will love V is For Villain. And finally, any readers who want a novel about dark family secrets, darker powers and a sibling feud should definitely give this novel a read.

Chapter-by-Chapter-header---About-the-Author

Peter Moore has been writing fiction since he was eleven years old, and became an amateur lycanthropologist even earlier. Because he studied hard in high school and ate all his vegetables, he was able to attend Vassar College and Columbia University. Though he briefly considered a career in the FBI, America can rest easy: it didn’t work out. Instead, he has worked as a screenwriter, college professor, English teacher, and guidance counselor. He lives with his wife and two kids in Westchester, New York. This is his third book for young adults. He strongly denies all rumors that he is a werewolf. Still, he won’t say where he goes every month during the full moon.

Connect with the Author:  Website | Twitter | Facebook 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Share

1 Comment

  1. I loved this one! Glad you did too. =) Marvel is awesome. Great review!
    Bieke @ Istyria book blog recently posted..Bookish Babble: My Favorite Animated MoviesMy Profile

    [Reply]

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge





Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours
Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery