6

November 21, 2012

Review of Mystic City (Mystic City #1) by Theo Lawrence

 

For fans of  Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City’s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents’ sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn’t remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can’t conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.

 Mystic City (Mystic City #1) by Theo Lawrence
Publication Date:  October 9, 2012
Publisher:  Delacorte Books for Young Readers
[youtube_sc url=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9fLGx198ug” autohide=”1″ hd=”1″]

** This title was provided to us by the Publisher for an honest review.
We were in no way paid for our opinions **

 

Another Romeo & Juliet type tale that I absolutely devoured.  Set in a Dystopian world where the aristocrats rule the world, and people born with mystic abilities are shunned to a life of hiding or live a life of not really living.   And what better than to have one of aristocratic birth and a mystic who is part of the rebels fall hopelessly in love with each other.  But don’t even begin to think that it’s that easy.  Oh no, dear readers…

Aria awakes to a life that she can’t remember.  An upcoming marriage to a man that she doesn’t even remember falling in love with, especially since her family, the Roses, and Thomas’ family, the Fosters, have been feuding for generations.   And then to wake up to the fact that both families are elated with the upcoming union.  Racking her brain for little signs that will help rekindle the memories of this love that both she and Thomas have for each other…until she finds a locket with a note containing just one word … “remember”.  Not like it helps jog her memory, but it does ignite a fire in Aria to find answers.

And where else to start but at her betroths of course.  As with every strong female character (of late), Aria risks her safety and ventures forth to Thomas’ home to try and find some answers, and perhaps to have him help her remember their love.  But before she gets even close to his home, she is confronted and attacked by a group of mystics.  Enter Hunter.  A mystic who has not been drained and so is not legally registered.  Hunter…the same mystic who saves her life by using these very mystical powers to thwart the attackers.  Hunter…who I absolutely crushed on in Mystic City.  He reminded me of every bad boy/good boy/leading male in so many books.  He’s mysterious and sweet, and we are allowed glimpses of his shy side, and his romantic side.

It’s from this encounter that Aria now can’t seem to stay away from him.  She goes out to try and find him various times (much to the dismay of her parents).  And who wouldn’t blame her?  If Hunter had saved me from an attack, I wouldn’t want him to leave my side either.   But slowly, little pieces of the puzzle come together, and we see that the life Aria thinks she knows, may not be what she really knows.  And it’s with the help of the mystics that finds out the truth about her family, the Fosters, and Hunter.

Although the Romeo & Juliet, star-crossed lovers thing seems to coming out of the woodwork lately, I just don’t get tired of it.  I love stories involving forbidden romance.  And Mystic City is definitely one that is worth the read.  The world created by author, Theo Lawrence, is a world like no other.  A world where magic exists.  I would have to agree that Mystic City is an X-men meets Romeo & Juliet.  I don’t know where the Hunger Games part comes in to play though…

At any rate, the characters found in Mystic City are ones that readers will not easily forget.  I mean, what up with Aria’s father!  In my mind he was a big mafia boss type guy who would do anything to keep his secrets safe…even if it cost him his daughter.  And Thomas?  When I first met him in the story, I was thinking “Oh yah, he’s great…and it’s gonna turn out to be a love triangle…”.  NOPE!  He’s a jerk with only one agenda…power…hence the union between his family and Aria’s.    Aria’s friends are nice enough, but I really couldn’t stand them.  They seemed fake and boring, and reminded me of just your typical upper class snobs that you see in the movies.  But the mystic characters?  Those ones I did like.  They all had a personality of their own.  They seems more alive.  With a diverse set of characters, readers will surely find ones that they can either relate to, or enjoy reading about.

With the various twists, turns, and gasp worthy scenes, Mystic City by Theo Lawrence, is one story that you will not get enough of.  I recommend this book to fans of Romeo & Juliet and X-men.  I can’t wait to see what happens in the next installment!

 

About the Author:

THEO LAWRENCE is a graduate of Columbia University and the Juilliard School. A Presidential Scholar in the Arts for Voice, he has performed at Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and Off-Broadway.

Connect with the Author:  Website / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
 /  /  / 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove
Share

6 Comments

  1. Ashley
    11/21/2012

    I had never seen the book trailer before! Awesome! And great review! I totally felt the same way. I loved Mystic City because I wasn’t really expecting the Romeo & Juliet-ness.. and I loved it! And for once, the love triangle actually makes sense. Aria is struggling between the guy she’s supposed to be with and the guy she’s drawn to. LOVE IT!
    Ashley recently posted..Waiting on Wednesday (28) – PremeditatedMy Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    The trailer is pretty cool! Although I did picture Hunter to look a little different.

    [Reply]

  2. Leigh
    11/21/2012

    I’ll definitely add this to my TBR pile :D It sounds sooo good!! Great review (:

    Leigh
    Little Book Star
    Leigh recently posted..Wishlist Wednesday #5: SplinteredMy Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    Thanks Leigh! You definitely need to read this one! So good!

    [Reply]

  3. I have heard so little about this one, but your review makes it sound like something I would enjoy. And I like the trailer; simple, but right to the point!
    kay @ Infinite Curio recently posted..Review : Soulless, the Manga, volume 1My Profile

    [Reply]

  4. Denise Z
    11/23/2012

    I have been wanting to read this for a while and it is definitely on the wishlist. I really enjoyed the trailer. Thank you for sharing.

    [Reply]

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge





Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours
Current Giveaways

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery