10

September 10, 2012

Review of Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal #1) by Stacey Jay

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s “Shiver” and Becca Fitzpatrick’s “Hush” will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history’s most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies.
The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn’t take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn’t anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she’s fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she’s forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

“These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, 
Which as they kiss consume.”
“–Romeo and Juliet” by William Shakespeare

Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal #1) by Stacey Jay
Publication Date:  August 9, 2011
Publisher:   Delacorte Books for Young Readers

I don’t know if this is the actual trailer, but it works…
[youtube_sc url=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TGOWLhcqBVU” autohide=”1″ hd=”1″]

I love anything and everything that has to do with Romeo & Juliet.  No matter which way they spin the story or movie, I will watch it and I will smile.  I just can’t get enough of this tragic love story.  Juliet immortal is no exception.  It is a cleverly written spin off the story that we all know.

What if the story we all know is wrong?  What if Juliet did not kill herself to be with her beloved forever, but rather her beloved murdered her?  In Juliet Immortal, both Romeo and Juliet do find each other…over and over again.  In the bodies of those that they possess.  Although it may sound like the beginnings of a  love story that is never ending, it is quite the opposite.  Both fight for the opposite side.  Juliet for light, and Romeo siding with the dark.

Juliet find herself thrust into a body every 50 years (or so) with one mission.  To guard a pair of soul mates, and ensure that their paths do not veer  away from each other.  Easier said than done.  Especially when your own (or what you thought to be your own) soul mate comes after your every time, to convince one of the soul mates to take the life of the other, and join him on the dark side (insert Darth Vader breathing).  Not only that, but it seems Romeo is also hell bent on killing Juliet once and for all.

In this particular “mission”, Juliet finds herself in the body of Ariel, a girl who is scarred due to a grease incident involving her mother.  She also finds herself in the bottom of a ravine with Dylan, the boy who has accepted a bet from his friends to woo Ariel and have sex with her.  Of course, as the fates would have it, Ariel finds out, gets royally pissed off, and grabs the steering wheel of the vehicle they are both in, and off they go, off the road, through the guard rails, and down…down…down the ravine.  But the boy beside her that she believes to be dead is now possessed by the very determined Romeo, and all hell breaks loose.

Fighting for her life, Ariel/Juliet does what she needs to do to incapacitate Romeo and run for her life.  Out of nowhere, her knight in shining armor comes to her rescue, and his name is Ben.  Ben, who has secrets of his own, but feels that he must do whatever he must to ensure that Ariel/Juliet is never hurt by Dylan again.  But nothing is ever easy, and the obstacles that get in the way could be more than even true love can get over.

Juliet Immortal was a tragic love story within a tragic love story.  The multitude of twists found within the pages had me up late in the night, so that I could see what kind of ride this story was going to take me on.  Whose words do I believe?  Who is the soul mate that Juliet is meant to be with?  How did author, Stacey Jay, come up with such a magnificent story!  The tale that is told is one that is original and consumed all of me.  I did not want this story to end.  And the way in which Stacey Jay leaves the end has me wishing that I could jump right into Romeo Redeemed.  Like, I need to read it right now!  Bump it up on my TBR so I can see what is going to happen in Romeo’s story!

I absolutely looooooved how Stacey Jay incorporated the words of Shakespeare into this story.  I thoroughly enjoyed how maniacal she made Romeo…especially in his opening scene where he is singing Smashing Pumpkins’ Bullets With Butterfly Wings.  That right there had me knowing that this book was going to be epic.  That scene completely had my attention, and it never wavered from there.  And I totally love that song!  That scene played out in my mind like a movie…very intense and full of nail biting awesomeness.

Fans of Romeo & Juliet will love the twist in this tale.  Those who love stories revolving around tragic love stories and soul mates will devour this book.   I wish I hadn’t hesitated in starting this book for so long.  I wish I had bumped this one long ago and experienced this tale sooner.

 

Connect with Stacey:

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

 

Available for Purchase:

 Amazon

Barnes & Noble

The Book Depository

 

.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove
Share

10 Comments

  1. Angel @ Book Flame
    9/10/2012

    I actually ordered this book last week so hopefully I get it sometime early this week. Can’t wait to read this twist on Romeo and Juliet it sounds amazing. Great review!
    Angel @ Book Flame recently posted..Review: Forgotten by Cat PatrickMy Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    Thanks Angel! I hope you get it soon!! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    [Reply]

  2. I am a huge Shakespeare fan and I love Romeo & Juliet spinoffs as well. This sounds fantastic and I can’t believe I’ve never heard of it before! Definitely being added to my TBR pile! Great review! :D
    Courtney @ Courtney Reads A Lot recently posted..Beautiful Blogger Award!My Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    Thanks! If you love R & J, you are totally going to love this one! Romeo Redeemed comes out in October which continues the story in Romeo’s eyes!

    [Reply]

  3. kimbacaffeinate
    9/11/2012

    I loved this one too..but guess what!! I loved Romeo Redeemed even more!!! I love Stacey’s writing style.
    kimbacaffeinate recently posted..Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan {release day review and giveaway}My Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    I love her writing style too! I’m so excited to start Romeo Redeemed.

    [Reply]

  4. Alpa
    9/13/2012

    Added to my to-read list. This looks interesting
    Alpa recently posted..Guest Author : Mia Hoddel (of The Sheol)My Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    It’s so good!

    [Reply]

  5. Dione Sage
    1/17/2013

    Okay, this book has been on my TBR list for a long time. I actually forgot about it until I came across this review! Thanks for reminding me exactly why I want to read it.

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    Ahhh! You totally need to read this! Thanks for stopping by!

    [Reply]

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge





Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours
Current Giveaways

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery