12

October 27, 2012

Review of Exiled (The Protector #1) by M.R. Merrick

 

Chase Williams is a demon hunter in the Circle, or at least he was supposed to be. On his fifteenth birthday, Chase stepped up to the altar to claim his elemental power, but it never came. Elemental magic is passed down to a hunter through the bloodline, but on Chase’s birthday, the bloodline stopped.

Exiled without the Circle’s protection, Chase has spent two years trying to survive a world riddled with half-demons and magic. When he has a run in with a frightened and seemingly innocent demon, he learns the Circle’s agenda has changed: the Circle plans to unlock a portal and unleash pure-blood demons into the world. Vowing to stop them, and knowing he can’t do it alone, Chase forms a reluctant alliance with Rayna — a sexy witch with an attitude and a secret.

In their attempt to stop them, Chase and Rayna find themselves in the middle of the Circle’s plan, leaving one of them to decide what their friendship is worth, and the other’s life depending on it.

Exiled (The Protector #1) by M.R. Merrick
Publication Date:  April 12, 2012

I couldn’t find a trailer, so here’a wicked song!

[youtube_sc url=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e_S9VvJM1PI” autohide=”1″ hd=”1″]

** This title was provided to us by the author for an honest review.
We were in no way paid for our opinions **

Exiled by M.R. Merrick was amazing!  The world, the characters, the storyline…OMG everything about it grabbed my attention, held it, and had me crying out for more!  Why, oh why did I wait so long to start this series?

Chase Williams had been training his whole life for the one moment he and his father have been looking forward to…his 15th birthday where he can officially become Hunter.  To become a part of the Circle and hunt the Underworlders and keep his world safe.

Unfortunately, when he enters the circle to claim his elemental power…nothing happens!  Obviously, Chase is not a happy camper, but none is more unhappy with this outcome than his father, Riley.  And how does dear ol’ dad take the news?  He banishes his son from the Circle, and all that it encompasses.  But wait!  That’s not all folks.  He also banishes his wife! *le gasp* Why?  Because to his twisted mind, the only “obvious” reason being that she had cheated on Riley and that Chase is no son of his.

And so, both Chase and his mother must now learn to live among humans and leave the life that they’ve know.  But don’t think that life gets easier for Chase.  Au contraire!  The Underworlders are hunting him down because he is the son of Riley Williams, and by killing him that would in turn would affect one of the most famous Hunters in history.  Pffft, yeah right.

As if life couldn’t get any more complicated, during an altercation with a group of demons, Chase gets some help from Rayna, a half-breed (half demon/half hunter) and a Hunter that all have thought was long gone.  But what other secrets will Chase uncover, and will he learn to trust Rayna who is everything he was trained to kill.

Ok, first of all…Demon Hunter!  Love stories involving demon hunters.  And author, M.R. Merrick’s Exiled is easily among the top of the list for epic Demon Hunters.  The world created is one that will not easily be forgotten, but where one can easily immerse themselves into completely.

From the very opening pages to the very end, I lived and breathed everything Exiled.  I couldn’t tear myself away from the story that was unfolding before my eyes.  The characters found in this story are ones that readers alike will fall in love with and addictively follow.   The strong and powerful vampire, Vincent, for example is one that captivated me.  He is known to be the most powerful vamp in town…one that all Underworlders know not to cross, and yet his endearing moments involving Rayna had me falling for this bad boy.  I am, so, in need of more of him!

M.R. Merrick’s writing style is easy to follow, and the various plot twists and turns were done to perfection.  The action scenes described were superbly done, and had me completely feeling as though I were right there on the streets and in the scenes with our fearless heroes.

Exiled is an addictive ride that had me on edge throughout the entire read.  Fans of The Mortal Instruments and Buffy the Vampire Slayer will completely devour this story, and will instantly run out to grab the second installment to this series, Shift.  Read, love it, and fan girl with me!

About the Author:

 

M.R. Merrick is a Canadian writer, and author of Exiled, the first installment in The Protector Series. Having never traveled, he adventures to far off lands through his imagination and in between cups of coffee. As a music lover and proud breakfast enthusiast, he’s usually found at the computer, between a pair of headphones and in front of a large bowl of cereal.

Connect with the author:  Website / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads

Available for Purchase:
 / /  / 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove
Share

12 Comments

  1. Natalie Cleary
    10/27/2012

    Great review!! I cant wait to read this. I have it so Ill have to bump it up my pile :)

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    Thanks Nat! Definitely bump it up your list!

    [Reply]

  2. I had never heard of Exiled before, but now I am tres intrigued. This sounds awesome! I’m also a big fan of demon hunters. And what a great review! Definitely checking it out.

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    Thanks Courtney! You absolutely need to read it, especially since you are a big demon hunter fan (*virtual high five*)! Sooooo good!

    [Reply]

  3. Valerie
    10/27/2012

    Totally agree! Love Chase! Love this fab world and the serious amount of action. Great review.
    Valerie recently posted..Save the date!!! #DeityJLA Twitter PartyMy Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    Thanks Val! I am officially addicted to this world. Can’t wait to start #2!

    [Reply]

  4. Cassie B.
    10/27/2012

    This is a great review. Some elements of the storyline sound kind of like Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series. I enjoyed that, so I’ll have to check this one out as well.
    Cassie B. recently posted..Adults Reading YA Fiction — What It’s NotMy Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    I totally thought of Cassandra Care’s Mortal Instruments as I was reading it! A perfect follow up to that series indeed.

    [Reply]

  5. I’ve only heard great things about this book which definitely means that I need to pick up a copy !! I love both Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the Mortal Instruments series so I can’t wait to give this one a try ! Thanks for the great review ;)
    Elodie @ Once Upon a Quote recently posted..Review : Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill :My Profile

    [Reply]

  6. kimbacaffeinate
    10/28/2012

    hmm..i think this is in my tbr pile..*eyes bookshelf*
    Great review!
    kimbacaffeinate recently posted..The Restorer by Amanda Stevens {review~giveaway}My Profile

    [Reply]

  7. I loved this book!!! I loved Shift even more I think. This is one of my favorite series. Yay for fan-girling!! ;)
    Amy @ Book Loving Mom recently posted..Review: Tempting the Player (Gamble Brothers #2) by J. LynnMy Profile

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    I can’t wait to start Shift! I was ready to jump right into it right after I finished Exile, but had to get to a couple pressing ARCs. I can’t wait to get back into this world!

    [Reply]

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge





Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours
Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery