June 24, 2015

Nightborn (Thrones & Bones #2) by Lou Anders – Playlist and Giveaway

Nightborn (Thrones & Bones #2) by Lou Anders – Playlist and Giveaway

From the author of Frostborn comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy for fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull.
Karn Korlundsson is a gamer. Not a riddle solver. But in order to rescue his best friend, Thianna Frostborn, he will need to travel to the faraway city of Castlebriar (by wyvern), learn how to play a new board game called Charioteers (not a problem), decipher the Riddle of the Horn, and tangle with mysterious elves.
Meet Desstra. She’s in training to join the Underhand—the elite agents of the dark elves. When she crosses paths with Karn, she is not all that she appears to be.
Everyone is chasing after the horn of Osius, an ancient artifact with the power to change the world. The lengths to which Karn will go in the name of friendship will be sorely tested. Who knew that solving a riddle could be so deadly?
The novel includes instructions for playing the board game Charioteers. Visit ThronesandBones.com for additional games, maps, character profiles, and more!
Praise for Nightborn:
"Anders presents a captivating world." —Kirkus Reviews 
Praise for Frostborn:
“Future fans of Tolkien and George R. R. Martin can happily cut their serial-fantasy teeth on this first book of an eventual series.” —Kirkus Reviews
“A fun, fast-paced, and highly enjoyable tale.” —Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Abhorsen trilogy
“A powerful, fast-paced tale. . . . The setting is rich, the characters well-defined, and the danger ever-paramount.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred
“An excellent choice for readers new to the genre. The themes of staying true to oneself, teamwork, and individuality will resonate with readers.” —School Library Journal
“The most delightful fantasy I have read in ages. . . . Put me on the waiting list for book 2!” —Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die For Me series

add to goodreads
Nightborn by Lou Anders
Published by: Penguin Random House  on July 14, 2015
Series: Thrones & Bones #2


You can check out our Review HERE!


The Thrones & Bones Playlist


Music is a huge part of my life and always has been. Anyone who knows me or follows me on social media knows what a rabid David Bowie fan I am. I’m very proud of having been on the jury that selected him for inclusion in the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame (hosted at the EMP Museum in Seattle). His endless reinvention, boundless creativity, and relentless drive is a major inspiration in my own work. I’m also fanatical about the music of Robyn Hitchcock, a “retrodelic” rocker whose work is like a marriage of the Beatles, Bob Dylan, and Doctor Who. And while I’ve never seen David Bowie on stage, I’ve probably seen Hitchcock upwards of forty times. I’m also big on Beck, the Counting Crows, the Mountain Goats, and Miles Davis, and I have a deep admiration for Annie Lennox.

But when I write the Thrones & Bones series, I look beyond these talented artists (and the rest in my enormous song collection). I need music that I can use to get in an appropriate mindset for crafting adventures in a fantasy land set in the equivalent of another world’s high middle ages. With this specific goal in mind, for Frostborn, I built a playlist in iTunes called “Fantasy Themes” which I’ve tweaked and expanded for Nightborn and Skyborn. And here it is:

Fantasy Themes

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Howard Shore)
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (Howard Shore)
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Original Game Sountrack (Jeremy Soule)
How to Train Your Dragon 2 (John Powell)
“Kingdom Dance” from Tangled (Alan Menken)
“Carmina Burana: O fortuna” (Carl Orff, composer: London Philharmonic Orchestra, London Philharmonic Choir, The London Chorus and David Parry)
“O Fortuna” (Carl Orff, composer: Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg & Kurt Prestel)

Howard Shore’s brilliant score to the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit films certainly needs no explanation, but Jeremy Soule’s equally brilliant score for the Skyrim videogame is just as inspirational. Soule has been called “the John Williams of video game music” and deservedly so. He might even be my first choice if the Thrones & Bones series were adapted for film. His tracks “Dragonborn,” “Ancient Stones,” “Tooth and Claw,” and “Death or Sovngarde” are particularly good.

But John Powell’s score for How to Train Your Dragon 2 is right on the money. And “For the Dancing and the Dreaming” (with Gerard Butler, Craig Ferguson, and Mary Jane Wells), while not exactly in line with what I’m looking for, stirs the emotions every time I hear it.

Probably the single piece of music that loomed largest for me as a child was composer Carl Orff’s “O Fortuna.” Based on a Latin poem written in the 13th century—Fortuna was the Roman personification of Luck—it was set to music in the 1930s by the german composer. I first encountered it in John Boorman’s 1981 film Excalibur. “O Fortuna” plays when Arthur and his knights ride out to their last battle against the forces of Mordred and Morgana. As they ride through the fields, spring returns to the land and the trees cast a cascade of flowers into the air. Parents be warned—Excalibur is a very adult film, not suitable for children, though I was a child at the time I first saw it—but this powerful piece of music, combined with the image of gallant knights on horseback on their way to battle they will never return from, has stayed with me ever since. I’ve got two versions of “O Fortuna” in my playlist, neither the arrangement John Boorman used (which isn’t on iTunes sadly) and I’ll probably add more as I search for the perfect composition.

The last item to be added to the playlist is the song “Kingdom Dance” from the movie Tangled. I’m always impressed by new compositions that can invoke the classic medieval feel of songs like the overused “Greensleeves.” Alan Menken’s clever notes here do exactly that.

So, that’s my Thrones & Bones playlist. But I’m always looking for suggestions on what should go into it next!


About Lou Anders

Lou Anders

Lou Anders's research on Norse mythology while writing Frostborn turned into a love affair with Viking culture and a first visit to Norway. He hopes the series will appeal to boys and girls equally. Anders is the recipient of a Hugo Award for editing and a Chesley Award for art direction. He has published over 500 articles and stories on science fiction and fantasy television and literature. Frostborn, which Publishers Weekly described as “thoroughly enjoyable” (starred review), is his first middle grade novel. A prolific speaker, Anders regularly attends writing conventions around the country. He and his family reside in Birmingham, Alabama. You can visit Anders online at louanders.com and ThronesandBones.com, on Facebook, and on Twitter at @ThronesandBones.


Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove


  1. Rachel B

    i want to read this because i love gaming so am looking forward to a series of books involving that.


  2. nrlymrtl

    I really enjoyed Frostborn and am looking forward to Nightborn. I had the pleasure of hearing Lou Anders talk at DragonCon 2010 so when Frostborn came out I was excited to give it a read.
    nrlymrtl recently posted..The Riggle Twins by Gregor XaneMy Profile


  3. Sui generis

    I heard a lot of good things about this series that made me curious and interested in readumibg and having my own copies. I want to find out myself how good it is and recommend and shared it to my fellow readers.


  4. Emily



  5. Jenn

    I really love the concept for these books. The idea of the games played in fantasy worlds is really cool. Also, the name of the game is very catchy.


Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!


CommentLuv badge

Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours

Upcoming Tours

None yet!

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery