February 26, 2013

Mini-Review of Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick



Seven stories of passion and love separated by centuries but mysteriously intertwined—this is a tale of horror and beauty, tenderness and sacrifice.

An archaeologist who unearths a mysterious artifact, an airman who finds himself far from home, a painter, a ghost, a vampire, and a Viking: the seven stories in this compelling novel all take place on the remote Scandinavian island of Blessed where a curiously powerful plant that resembles a dragon grows. What binds these stories together? What secrets lurk beneath the surface of this idyllic countryside? And what might be powerful enough to break the cycle of midwinterblood? From award-winning author Marcus Sedgwick comes a book about passion and preservation and ultimately an exploration of the bounds of love.

add to goodreadsMidwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
Publication Date:  February 5th 2013
Publisher:   Roaring Brook Press

Available for Purchase:
Chapter-Indigo | amazon | B&N | TBD | indiebound

[embedplusvideo height=”267″ width=”425″ standard=”″ vars=”ytid=IbMwHdTrcfc&width=425&height=267&start=&stop=&rs=w&hd=0&autoplay=0&react=1&chapters=&notes=” id=”ep7529″ /]

** This title was provided to us by the Publisher for an honest review.
We were in no way paid for our opinions **

MaryAnn NewMidwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick was a book that had me up in the middle of night, well after finishing it.  It is a love story that truly transcends time, and in the end was one of the most romantic reads I’ve read.

I will admit, when I first started reading Midwinterblood, I was confused.  It starts off with journalist, Eric Seven heading over to the land of Blessed to investigate a unique flower called The Blessed Dragon Orchid which is rumored to have the ability to extend life and has the ability to heal.  But his time on the island is not what he expected, especially when he lays his eyes on one of the islanders, Merle.  Eric can’t quite put his finger on it, but he feels as though he has known Merle before, and the things that they do together come to him as a strong case of Déjà vu.  Not only that, but as the days go by, Eric’s memory and thoughts seem to become fuzzy and non-existant.

But once his reporter skills kick in, he heads towards an unmarked area of island, and chances upon a church.  And it’s the events at this church that begins the seven different stories found in Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick, and had me reeling until the very end.

The stories in Midwinterblood start at a more present day, and as the next story starts, it goes back in time.  The reader is reunited with the various characters in the book, but in a different time, in different circumstances, and possibly, with a different variation of their name.   I will admit that the first few stories we are bit ho-hum for me, but as I progressed through the book, I couldn’t stop.

I was so intrigued to see where this next time and place would lead me, and what sort of events would transpire!  You see, each individual tale has a little event or discovery that is explained in one of the following stories.  For example, one of the stories follows a group of architects during a dig on Blessed Island looking for Viking burial grounds.  A chance tip from an observer leads them to the right direction, and they discover a burial ground with the skeletons of an adult and of a child.  It’s not until a few stories later that the identity of the skeletons is revealed, and it was an “ohhhhhh” moment for me.  That’s the sort of thing that had me hooked.  It was like mini mystery discoveries, as you progress through the book.

Where the ending of the first story left me with a “WTF is going on” feeling, the ending left me breathless with a bit of an ache in my heart.  Fans of undying love and devotion, stories of reincarnation and soul mates, Midwinterbood by Marcus Sedgwick is the book for you.

About the Author:

Marcus Sedgwick (b 1968) was born in Kent, England. Marcus is a British author and illustrator as well as a musician. He used to play for two bands namely playing the drums for Garrett and as the guitarist in an ABBA tribute group. He has published novels such as Floodland (winner of the Branford Boase Award in 2001) and The Dark Horse (shortlisted for The Guardian Children’s Book Award 2002).
Connect with the Author:  Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


1 Comment

  1. Jenea W

    This doesn’t sound to bad at all. I’m going to have to check and see where I can get it. Great review. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. :)

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!