0

October 12, 2011

Every Other Day – Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Every other day, Kali D’Angelo is a normal sixteen-year-old girl. She goes to public high school. She attends pep rallies. She’s human. And then every day in between . . .She’s something else entirely. Though she still looks like herself, every twenty-four hours predatory instincts take over and Kali becomes a feared demon-hunter with the undeniable urge to hunt, trap, and kill zombies, hellhounds, and other supernatural creatures. Kali has no idea why she is the way she is, but she gives in to instinct anyway. Even though the government considers it environmental terrorism.

When Kali notices a mark on the lower back of a popular girl at school, she knows instantly that the girl is marked for death by one of these creatures. Kali has twenty-four hours to save her and, unfortunately, she’ll have to do it as a human. With the help of a few new friends, Kali takes a risk that her human body might not survive

. . .and learns the secrets of her mysterious condition in the process. – Synopsis from the Novel

 No book trailer for this one, but Gabby recommended this song.
[youtube_sc url=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eztZ6mvWCcs&feature=player_embedded” autohide=”1″ hd=”1″]
 ** This book was provided to us by the publisher, and we were in no way paid for our review.  The review was done simply because we support and believe in the author’s works**

Supernatural Hunter + Popular Cheerleader + one social outcast = one unique team of teenagers.  I mean bonding over a Chupacabra bite?  Is there really any other way to form a lasting bond?  Seriously!  Love it! It’s interesting to see how these character’s develop and interact with each other.  To see how their relationships with each other unfold.

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  There is action right from the very first chapter. Throughout the novel, we see the main character, Kali D’Angelo battle many supernatural creatures.  Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ descriptions of each battle are vivid and action packed, with a different twist throughout the book, and secrets to be revealed, the readers will be left guessing until the very end. And so much excitement, it will make your head spin!  Plus add in the effect of a countdown timer, and you can literally feel your heart pounding.

There was one point in the story where I was reading all nice and quiet,and then all of sudden “BAM!” something major is revealed, and I literallywhispered (pretty loudly I might add) “WHAT???!?!!” You’ll have to read it to know what I’m talking about, but when you get to that part, you are totally going to say “what??!?!?” too!

There were a lot of humorous lines and scenes throughout the book, which I felt made the characters feel more real.  Although Kali is seen as a tough, no holds barred, show no fear, come and get me type of girl, Barnes portrays another side of her that will catch readers off guard and love the character even more.  You can’t help but feel sad for Kali, seeing her struggle with trying to get her father to notice her, her desire to live a normal life but having to accept who she really is, or what she really is…

My favorite part in the book is how the author builds up to Kali’s change. Barnes carries it out making the reader hang on to her every word.  She makes you feel how Kali is feeling, hear what she hear, experience the changes going on throughout her body.  And the hunting scenes…. Wow!  Everything is described in amazing detail.  Her clever one liners were classic.  There were times where I felt like I was literally inside Kali’s head as she plans her next attack, like how she is going to survive a horde of zombies (zoink!)

And then there is the mysterious Zev.  Yes, I have a crush on him.  I couldn’t help it.  I won’t give away the secret why, but all I have to say is *sigh*.  There are points throughout the beginning of the book where Zev is downright creepy, but I loved it! (yes, yes…weird) For example, the scene in the care with Eddie!  (gasped and sighed at the same time! – read it, you’ll see why)  But once you get past the creepiness, Zev is so sweet.  And the way Barnes allows the reader very brief glimpses through Zev’s eyes was eerily addicting.  It was just enough of a tease to keep the reader’s attention.  And the secret about Zev! (Yowzah!)  I gasped out loud.  For real! The story just got a whole lot more intriguing for me at that point.

This book made me laugh out loud at times, and it made me teary eyed at certain parts.  The only negative I have about the book is that the word “preternatural” was used way too much throughout the book.  I recommend this book to anyone who loves supernatural stories.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Vampire Academy, Strange Angels, or enjoys heroines that kick butt, will love this book.

I am hoping that there will be a follow up book coming soon.  Kali D’Angelo is my new favorite hero.

Imagine being in a world where it’s normal (more or less) for there to be zombies that might occasionally stroll into your house, sure they’ll still try to eat you but it’s not as unusual as you would think, now bear with me here but imagine there being more than hundreds of different types of monsters, that should (in my opinion) in novels where they belong, and you being one of the few people who can kill them without human error?

Well lovelies, in Ever Other Day from author Jennifer Lynn Barnes, that’s part of her usual routine. Killing the monsters are just a part of who, or whatever, Kali is. She even has supernatural healing and other strange abilities like her affinity for weapons, but of course Kali’s awesomeness has a catch: She’s only an awesome, monster hunting, butt kicking machine until every other day. On a normal (for her) day she’s a normal human girl for the next twenty four hours, at first I assumed that from what I read on the synopsis that this novel was going to be one word. Boring. I mean in my mind I thought that this was a novel taking place in a period of twenty four hours and I swore that if I had to read a book about a normal girl trying to save another normal girl all while being in her ‘human’ form I was going to be disappointed but after reading the first chapter I was reeled in. I found that my one fear, which is found above (I don’t have the energy to re-type it), wasn’t something to worry about!! The novel kept up it’s pace, especially with the way the story was written. I found my eyes widening at certain points, I found myself laughing at others and once or twice I even felt sad about Kali’s relationship with her father who acts like she doesn’t even exist.

Continuously in this novel I found myself biting my lower lip and putting connections to how this novel was almost in the exact setting I had wished that the Strange Angels series could have been and that would be a world where everybody already knew the monsters existed. I don’t know why but the more I read this novel I finally had my expectations met. Barnes’ novel had an amazing plot with enough details that I managed to form everything in my mind and was full of so many twists and turns that I was tearing my hair out wondering why I hadn’t seen that coming. When I finally thought I figured everything out- BOOM! There would be an unexpected twist that I didn’t see coming, especially near the end where I was being backhanded with so many twists my head could have fallen off. Which is, trust me, a really good thing.

I recommend this to anybody who wants action, the supernatural and a unique novel all together. It will change your view of the unnatural forever.

Share

No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge





Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours
Current Giveaways

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery