May 12, 2015

Blog Tour: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey – Guest Post and Giveaway


Hi everyone and welcome to our Tour Stop for

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

presented by Random House Children’s Books!

You can check out our review HERE!

Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!


For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

add to goodreads

The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1)
by Melissa Grey
Publication Date:  April 28, 2015
Publisher:  Delacorte Press

Available for Purchase:
indigo amazon B&N kobo TBD indiebound


Top Favs with Melissa Grey

You’re home alone, there’s a fire!  Top 3 things you’d grab and save from the fire.

My cat (If we can call her a “thing”)

My iphone

My notebook containing my Girl at Midnight 3 notes

Top 3 Favorite books that inspired you to write and why

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

The Mage Winds trilogy by Mercedes Lackey

The Night World series by L.J. Smith

Top 3 favorite techniques to overcome writers block and why

  1. Refuse to accept that writer’s block is a real thing that prevents you from writing (There are other things that might legitimately prevent you from writing: illness, injury, emotional distress, having to work three jobs to pay your bills, exhaustion, not being able to find a babysitter, schoolwork driving you nuts. These are not writing blocks. These are just facets of life and life is messy and sometimes writing is not a realistic activity at a given time.)
  2. Put aside the thing you’re struggling to write and write something else, preferably something else.
  3. Go outside and do something. Go to a museum. Go see a ballet. Go sit by a calming body of water and make up stories in your head about the shapes of the clouds. Go create new myths for constellations of stars you can spot in the night sky. Go do something that is not writing so that when you sick back down at your desk, you have something to write about.

Top 3 favorite dream destinations and why

  1. The underwater forest of Lake Kaindy in Kazakhstan – It seems like a place where fairies might live. I mean, it’s an underwater forest. There’s gotta be some kind of nymph-like creature there just hanging out.
  2. Sapporo, Japan – I’d like to go see the Snow Festival. I lived in Japan for a while, but I was never around at that time of year and it’s super high on my bucket list. They have the most magnificent ice sculptures.
  3. Zhangye Danxia Landform Geological Park in China – Two words: Rainbow. Mountains.

Top 3 Favorite authors (dead or alive) and why

I’ll list one book per author and that shall be my reason as I believe the work should speak for itself.

Neil Gaiman – Neverwhere

  1. Scott Fitzgerald (and his wife Zelda, without whom this book never would have happened) – Tender Is the Night

Edith Wharton – The Age of Innocence

Top 3 Favorite snacks while writing and why

  1. Cheez Doodles – The very best in artificial cheese
  2. Macarons – They’re the prettiest thing you can eat
  3. Celery sticks with sunflower seed butter – For when I feel like pretending I eat healthy



Melissa Grey


Melissa Grey penned her first short story at the age of twelve and hasn’t stopped writing since. As an undergrad at Yale, she learned how ride a horse and shoot a bow and arrow at the same time, but hasn’t had much use for that skill since graduating in 2008.

Her debut novel, THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT, will be published by Delacorte/Random House in spring 2015.

To learn more about Melissa, visit melissa-grey.com and follow her on Twitter @meligrey.

Connect with the Author:  Website | Twitter | Goodreads


Complete the Rafflecopter below for your chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove


  1. Linda Romer

    I want to read The Girl at Midnight because it sounds like a great adventure and i’m from New York! Thank you


  2. Carol

    Loooots of reasons! The min one being that it sounds so COOL! And the cover is awesome! ;) Thank you for the tips to overcome writers block!!


  3. Eileen

    I would definitely grab my cat too! The story sounds like everything I love and I’ve heard fabulous things about Girl at Midnight :D
    Eileen recently posted..Review: Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan EeMy Profile


  4. Christina R.

    I love how there are dragons and birds and it’s urban fantasy!!! LOVE the concept!!

    I have a US address but rafflecopter might show my location outside US because I’m doing a semester abroad

    thank you so very much :)


  5. bn100

    interesting sounding


  6. Rachel B

    this sounds like a fun fantasy book. LOoking for a new one, so it’s going on my tbr list. :)


  7. Susan T.

    I’ve read such great reviews for this book that I am super excited to read it! I want to know more about the Avicen. If they are birdlike why are the underground?


  8. Summer

    Loyal and brash are two of my favorite qualities in a heroine, add in that she’s also a pickpocket, and I definitely want to give this one a try.


  9. Ange/Libby Blog

    Feathers, Scales AND an orphan = awesome!
    Ange/Libby Blog recently posted..Spotlight Tour + Giveaway: Spelled by Betsy SchowMy Profile


  10. Lauren Ashley

    The book got my attention from the first line of the synopsis; “For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone”
    And now I really want to read it!


  11. Camille H

    This books sounds so original, I have been dying for something fresh in YA fantasy!


  12. Mary Loki

    I’ve heard so many great things about it!


  13. Katherine Riley

    It sounds like a great summer read to whisk you away to another place!!!!


Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!


CommentLuv badge

Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours

Upcoming Tours

None yet!

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery