Archives

Goodreads
0

April 24, 2019

Blog Tour: Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb – Interview and Giveaway

Hello Readers! Welcome to our Tour Stop for

Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb

presented by Lakewater Press!

We have Kristy on the blog today for a quick Q&A.

Click on the banner above to follow the rest of the tour,
and be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!

A terrifying power. A horrifying curse.


Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.
When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler’s presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge, she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.


Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.

Lucid (Lucid #1) by Kristy Fairlamb
Publication Date: April 23, 2019
Publisher: Lakewater Press

BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon | TBD 

Thanks so much for taking the time and spending time with us here at Chapter by Chapter!

Thanks for having me. It’s great to be here.

Describe your book in 140 characters or less (like a Tweet)

A tweet is now 280 characters, but I still tried to do it in 140. I’m close.

Lucy relives horrifying real-life tragedies in her dreams. She shoulders the burden alone…until Tyler moves to town. Lucid is about sacrifice, impossible decisions, & love.

What was your inspiration for writing this book?  Was it in a dream? A thought while taking a walk?

It wasn’t in a dream, but it was talking about them. I have a fascination with dreams and would talk about them with my daughter when I woke, and she would share hers. We still do this now, but that was the catalyse at the time for the story idea. I’ve also had a few close brushes with death that, on looking back, you think what-if? Because how differently thinks can change in a split second. It made me think about how horrible it would be to be cursed with seeing these moments in your dreams, or should I say nightmares.

Walks are great for fleshing out the ideas as the story is developing though. And showers and driving in the car.  

Tell us about the main character(s).

Sixteen-year-old, Lucy Piper, lives with the ability to see real life tragedies in her nightmares. She doesn’t talk about her dreams with anyone except her Granny Tess. In the past, she’s tried to explain her dreams, that she’s reliving the moment as if she’s right there; on the plane as it goes down, struggling to breath as she drowns with a child, suffocating in the smoke of a fire, but it’s hard for her parents and friends to really understand this concept. So, she’s alone in her struggle, aided by the music in her earphones and a trusty pair of sneakers. 

Do you have a favorite quote or specific part in the book that you really love?

One of the things I love is Lucy’s relationship with her Granny Tess. This isn’t a spoiler, but Granny Tess is the one person who she can talk to about her dreams because she used to be like Lucy. I love this moment between the two of them.  

‘What is it, dear? Something’s bothering you.’ Understatement of the century. She frowned, pressed her lips together, and waited.  
                I folded my hands in my lap. ‘What would you say if I told you I dreamed of someone before I met them in real life?’ I gulped. Always the moment of truth when I laid myself bare.
                Granny Tess smiled, the edges of her eyes laced with years and years of wrinkles, or as she would call them, laugh lines. She caught hold of my fingers and squeezed. ‘I would say tell me more.’

Was there a specific part in the book that you had an especially difficult time writing?  If so, why?

The beginning. Not the initial writing of it, but getting it right. I tried at least four different beginnings. It was extremely hard to know the perfect spot for Lucy’s story to start. But once I really identified what I wanted the opening to say, it began to take the right shape. And then a bit more condensing to get it to where it is now.

What sort of projects do you have going on right now.  Any new books coming out?

I’m working on the sequel of Lucid at the moment. I’m making a few big structural changes to Luminous before it goes back to the editor, so we can get it ready for its release early next year. 

It was great having you on the blog today!  We hope you’ll decide to stop by again someday, and we wish you much success!!

Thank you so much, I appreciate you taking the time for me to chat about my book.

I would absolutely love to stop by again. Maybe when Luminous is coming out.

Kristy Fairlamb is an Australian author of the Young Adult Lucid series coming out in 2019.


She spends her days drinking coffee and torturing her characters with loads of tension – both love related and the nail biting kind.


Long before her days of writing began she spent half her childhood in a make believe world; daydreaming about growing up, falling in love, and travelling the world.


She’s worked as a nanny in country England, a junior matron in a boy’s boarding school south of London, a governess in East Timor, and made coffees and cleared tables in the New South Wales snow fields.


She lives with her husband, teenage daughter, and two sons in the beautiful Adelaide Hills where they’re lucky enough to get occasional visits from the local koalas.


She’s terrible at gardening, likes her bookshelves sorted by colour, and recently checked off a lifelong dream of jumping from a plane.


When she’s not writing or daydreaming about her stories you’ll find her reading, cooking for her family, or doing anything to avoid the housework.

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Instagram • Goodreads

a Rafflecopter giveaway Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove
Share

No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge