April 28, 2015

Blog Tour: Finding Paris by Joy Preble – Review and Giveaway


Hi everyone, and welcome to our Tour Stop for

Finding Paris by Joy Preble

hosted by Jean Book Nerd!

Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!

Finding Paris

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other–perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other’s lives.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind–going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris–a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.

add to goodreadsFinding Paris by Joy Preble
Publication Date:  April 21, 2015
Publisher:  Balzer & Bray/Harperteen


I couldn’t find a trailer, so here’s a song!

** This title was provided to us by the Publisher for an honest review.
We were in no way paid for our opinions **


MaryAnn-2015Let me start off by saying that Finding Paris by Joy Preble was not at all what I thought it was going to be.  In all honesty, I was a little annoyed by the Hollings sisters.  I just couldn’t connect with them, and the insta-trust theme in the book was bothering me to the point of frustration.  BUT…but…the twist at the end was not something I saw coming at all.  I mean, the idea of it was not even a flicker in my radar, and it’s because of this that Finding Paris by Joy Preble moved up some notches.

The story basically follows sisters Leo and Paris Hollings.  Leo and Paris have pretty much only had each other to rely on.  With a mother who I wanted to smack in the face because of her lack of parenting, and more of a selfish bitch who toted these poor girls around like luggage.  After being moved around, their mother finds love in the arms of a man who seems to have a bit of a gambling addiction…and they all move to Las Vegas (great idea…).

After being woken up by her sister after a night of studying, Paris is in need of pie therapy due to a breakup.  And it’s at this pie place (aka Paris’ workplace) that Leo meets Max Sullivan.  A guy who appears to have a passion for physics, like her.  A guy whom she can’t help but feel an attraction to.  And the guy who plays a key role in everything that is Finding Paris.  Getting ready to leave, Paris tells Leo to stay put and keep talking to Max while she runs to the car to get her wallet.  But seconds turn to minutes, and Paris has not come back.  Wondering what the heck is taking her sister so long, Leo goes out to find that Paris’ car is gone, and Paris is nowhere to be seen.

After finding a hidden clue meant for Leo’s eyes only, Paris takes Leo and Max on a wild scavenger hunt all over Las Vegas.  Little does Leo know that Paris has her own hidden agenda…one that will shock the crap out of you.  And Max?  Well, he’s not so innocent either.  With dark secrets and hidden demons in his closet, the truth will either bring Leo and Max closer, or drive them in completely opposite directions.

At the end of the day, I did enjoy reading Finding Paris by Joy Pebles.  There were parts that did drag for me, and parts where I was beginning to lose interest, but in the end, I was absolutely, 100% glad that I finished reading this one.

As I had mentioned earlier in this review, the plot twist in the end is what did it for me, secured my positive thoughts on this book.  This story has mostly everything that a reader would enjoy; mystery, intrigue, potential love, disappointment, drama…but for me it was slow dragging and certain parts annoyed me.  I know it was all part of the grand scheme of things, but until I found out the reasoning for it I was annoyed.  For example, going around Las Vegas (and beyond) with a boy you just met in a restaurant by offering him a piece of pie.  The non-existent mother who doesn’t really seem to give a crap about her girls, even after the twist in the end (grrrrrrrr).  The flighty sister who is wasting Leo’s time by making her drive all over to “find” her (all makes sense in the end though, but was annoying me until the reasoning is explained).

Fans of great plot twists will enjoy reading Finding Paris by Joy Peble.  If you’re looking for a contemporary read that really shows the connection and love between sisters, I wouldn’t hesitate to read this one.


joy preble

Joy Preble is a Texas girl who was born and raised in Chicago and a former high school teacher who now writes full time, which means she gets paid for making up stuff. She earned an English degree from Northwestern University and speaks and teaches widely on writing and literacy at libraries and schools, as well as SCBWI, NCTE, AWP, and other conferences.

Joy is the author of THE SWEET DEAD LIFE and its sequel, THE A WORD (May 2014), both from Soho Press. Kirkus hailed THE SWEET DEAD LIFE with “Hallelujah! A paranormal tale of angels…that breaks the mold.”

She is also the author of the DREAMING ANASTASIA series (Sourcebooks) that combines paranormal romance with Russian folklore. DREAMING ANASTASIA was nominated for a Cybil Award in the Teen Sci-Fi/Fantasy Category in 2009. It was named an ABC Best Book for Children, Teen Category in 2009, and was featured in Justine Magazine.

Joy also has a contemporary mystery/romance on the way: FINDING PARIS will be out April 21, 2015 from Balzer and Bray/Harper Collins. Another paranormal mystery/romance, IT WASN’T ALWAYS LIKE THIS, pitched as Tuck Everlasting meets Veronica Mars, arrives from Soho Press in Spring 2016.

In no particular order, Joy loves guacamole, pizza, banana bread, red wine, books, boots of all shapes and sizes, TV, movies, and crazy road trips so she can see the world. She is also fond her family and her dog, in case you were wondering.

Connect with the Author: Website| Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


Finding Paris

Complete the Rafflecopter for a chance to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

1 Comment

  1. Judy Cox

    Your book really looks very good!! Thanks for the items in your giveaway!!


Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!


CommentLuv badge

Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours

Upcoming Tours

None yet!

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery