7

July 14, 2016

Blog Tour: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton – Guest Post and Giveaway #BabyDollBook

BabyDollTour

 

Hello readers! 

Welcome to our Tour Stop for

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton!

We are thrilled to have Hollie on the blog today talking about writing novels vs. writing for the screen!

Be sure to enter the giveaway, and 
Follow the rest of the tour by checking out the tour schedule at the end of the post!

 

Blog Tour:  Baby Doll by Hollie Overton – Guest Post and Giveaway #BabyDollBook

"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Die Again

Escape was just the beginning.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next... to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter—and to her captor.

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

add to goodreads
Baby Doll by Hollie Overton
Published by: Redhook  on July 12, 2016

amazonkoboibooksB&N

 

Chapter-by-Chapter-header---Guest-Post

 

Recently, I found an old journal from seventh grade and one of my goals was to publish a novel before I was twenty-five. I admire my optimistic younger self, but that didn’t happen. Instead, I spent years pursuing an acting career and when that didn’t work out, writing for film and TV seemed to be a natural progression.

The trouble with wanting to write a book and actually doing it was that I loved books so much I couldn’t shake my fear that I’d never measure up (a fear I’m hoping to one day overcome). When I started writing BABY DOLL, I called it my “new project” instead of a novel to help take the pressure off. After I’d completed the first draft, I couldn’t believe I’d written 300 pages! I’ve never been prouder (and neither has my seventh grade self)!

My screenwriting background definitely shaped my novel-writing process. In a TV script, you have fifty to sixty pages to tell a story. That means you must always push things forward. There simply isn’t time to waste. While I was writing BABY DOLL, I wanted readers to keep turning the pages so I consciously thought about plot twists and turns. But my main focus was always on the characters. They are the foundation for every great story, whether it’s a book or a TV show. In fact, I discovered some of the plot twists that happen in BABY DOLL after I’d already written a draft. The whole time I was writing I kept thinking about who the characters were and what they wanted. Writing a novel is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. But my TV background gave me a solid storytelling foundation. The rest was simply trial and error.

 

About Hollie Overton

HollIieOvertonPhoto

A tense, unique psychological thriller, Baby Doll is a remarkable first novel from TV writer Hollie Overton, who has worked Cold Case, The Client List, and the new Shadowhunters on ABC Family.

Debut author Hollie Overton was raised by her single mother, and Hollie—an identical twin herself—draws on her unique childhood experiences for her first novel, Baby Doll. Overton's father was a member of the notorious Overton gang in Austin, Texas, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter. Hollie is a television writer and resides in Los Angeles.

 

Chapter-by-Chapter-header---Giveaway

Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Tour-Schedule

 

Monday (July 11)

Hollie Overton stops by NovelNovice.com to introduce Baby Doll and share the personal experiences that inspired the book.

 

Tuesday (July 12)

Hollie Overton guest posts on TheReadingDate.com to talk about being an identical twin herself, and who her favorite fictional twins are.

 

Wednesday (July 13)

BookingMama.net shares a Q&A with Hollie Overton, and divulges on her writing process, book #2, and what are her current reading recommendations.

 

Thursday (July 14)

Hollie Overton – a TV writer for shows such as Cold Case, The Client List, and Shadowhunters – stops by Chapter-by-Chapter.com to talk about the difference between writing a novel and writing for the screen, and how her TV experience helped her draft a suspenseful and multi-perspective thriller.

 

Friday (July 15)

Read an exclusive excerpt from Baby Doll on OnceUponaTwilight.com.

 

Share

7 Comments

  1. Carol M
    7/14/2016

    I’m a big fan of psychological thrillers and this sounds like a good one. I also love reading stories about twins. I have identical twin grandsons.

    [Reply]

  2. Lisa Richards
    7/14/2016

    I love thrillers with twisty plots! Can’t wait!
    Lisa Richards recently posted..The Promise By C.E. Wilson – Cover RevealMy Profile

    [Reply]

  3. Marilyn
    7/14/2016

    This book looks exciting and would love to read it. Thanks for the giveaway.
    Marilyn

    [Reply]

  4. Edye
    7/15/2016

    Because I love the cover!
    Edye recently posted..Giveaway: The Summons by John Grisham (US/CAN)My Profile

    [Reply]

  5. Sharon Vargas
    7/20/2016

    I want to read Baby Doll because I just love thrillers, and this one sounds so good! Plus, Hollie Overton is an amazing writer!

    [Reply]

  6. Jeanna
    7/20/2016

    I am always looking for a good read and this one has me intrigued.

    [Reply]

  7. Priscilla S.
    7/23/2016

    I want to read it because I love psychological thrillers.

    [Reply]

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge





Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours

Upcoming Tours

None yet!

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery