13

June 5, 2012

Blog Tour: Angel Eyes (Angel Eyes Trilogy, #1) by Shannon Dittemore – Review with Giveaway

Hey!  Thanks for stopping by for our Tour Stop for

Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittemore

hosted by YA Bound!

Be sure to enter for a chance to win your very own copy

at the end of the post!

Once you’ve seen, you can’t unsee. Everything changes when you’ve looked at the world through . . .
ANGEL EYES

Brielle’s a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than Jake or Brielle has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices start.

A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.

Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittemore

Publish Date: May 28, 2012

Publisher: Thomas Nelson Fiction

I couldn’t find a book trailer, so here’s a song!

[youtube_sc url=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3MgNYqQ2fM” autohide=”1″ hd=”1″]

** This book was provided to us by the publisher for an honest review.
We were in now way paid for our opinion **

Angel Eyes, I have to say that the title threw me off guard. Not in the way that you think. At first, and before reading it, I thought that it had been about Halflings. That maybe the main character Brielle is a Halfling. I’m going to bring up the fact that this has nothing do with having literal angel eyes. It’s about a halo that gives Brielle (which is short of Gabrielle, which is something that I, being a Gabrielle myself, envy) the ability to see into the realm where angels and demons are visible.

Cool, I know, it does sound pretty cool. The start of the novel, did give me that total Twilight feel because it starts off with Brielle just returning from the city to her small hometown of Stratus, Oregon after going through a tragedy that has left her grieving and mournful. Not only did I personally find her Dad funny and nice, but the story was definitely great at finding ways to add in details as well as creating the emotions that Brielle would feel whether it was a flashback or if it was when she was with Jake.

I’ll get to Jake in a moment, really I will, but firstly I just wanted to mention the multiple chapters that came in the different point of views of different characters in the story. While Brielle’s were ones that were expected (since she is the main character) I was unsure if the constant switching was genius or not. Some of them, that were in the “bad guy’s” POV, had me intensely into the story and had me wanting more and others were so well detailed and enchanting that I wanted it to last just a paragraph longer.

The relationship between Jake and Brielle was different than the ones usually found it YA. I found it to be cute and the interaction between the two character reminded me of the interactions that were in Across the Universe. I don’t want to say much, but I know that everything between Jake and Brielle have my hopes up that I end up with somebody like him.

The entire novel itself, only takes place after a series of days, which seems like a short amount of time for people to fall in love, but soulmates are soulmates. I was personally interested in the way that author Shannon Dittermore described Canaan being an ethereal Shield and found the chest where fellow angels would send objects from the Throne Room to Jake and Brielle outstandingly cool. The story not only held multiple intense action scenes, but it also ended with a bang.

Author Shannon Dittemore has a writing style that is one that I found refreshing and unique, Fans of Twilight, Hush, Hush and Unearthly are sure to enjoy.

Connect with Shannon:

Website
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads

Available for purchase:

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
The Book Depository

Complete the Rafflecopter for a chance to win an e-book of Angel Eyes!

Open International!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove
Share

13 Comments

  1. Filia Oktarina
    6/5/2012

    Yes, i believe about soul mate. My parent was axample for soul mate^^

    [Reply]

  2. Marla Calalo
    6/5/2012

    Yes, I do.
    Marla Calalo recently posted..Blood Red Road by Moira YoungMy Profile

    [Reply]

  3. Gabby, I want to thank you for your kind review of Angel Eyes! It means so much that you’d take the time to read and share your thoughts. I wish you tons of luck on your writing journey, girl.

    [Reply]

  4. sweety
    6/6/2012

    YES,I do believe in soul mates :)

    Thanks for the international giveaway!!

    Rafflecopter name – Rosemarie D

    [Reply]

  5. Misty Mrosko
    6/6/2012

    Thanks for the giveaway and great review! I don’t know if I believe in soul mates. I think you could have many soul mates in your life, you just connect on other levels than others!

    [Reply]

  6. Amber Garcia
    6/6/2012

    I honestly don’t know if I believe in soul mates. I guess there could always be that one person out there for you but idk…Thanks for the giveaway!!

    [Reply]

  7. Gin Bryant
    6/6/2012

    I don’t know if I believe in soul mates, either. I do believe that if you want to make a relationship work, whether it be friendly or romantic, both parties have to work at it.
    Gin Bryant recently posted..Waiting On Wednesday (#1)My Profile

    [Reply]

  8. alicia marie
    6/6/2012

    i don’t know if i believe in soul mates. it would be nice but it almost seems like it would be difficult to ever find that person so more than likely you’d end up making it work with someone else. i think it might just be too good to be true.

    [Reply]

  9. nurmawati djuhawan
    6/7/2012

    i do believe soul mate…in books and movies ;p

    [Reply]

  10. Nicky Ball
    6/7/2012

    Yes, I think I do believe in soulmates. My husband & I had a strange twist of fate chance meeting. I think we were supposed to find each other!

    [Reply]

    Chapter by Chapter Reply:

    So romantic!

    [Reply]

  11. Lauren
    6/8/2012

    I completely believe in soul mates. I wouldn’t have met my husband if I didn’t believe in it. It was total fate that we met.
    Lauren recently posted..So Sorry My FriendsMy Profile

    [Reply]

  12. Dian Christy
    6/9/2012

    Yup, i do believe it.

    [Reply]

Leave a comment

Your comments make us smile!







Comments


CommentLuv badge





Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours
Current Giveaways

Help Support This Blog!
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery